Service Organizations

  • NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY

    The Thomas E. Cahill Chapter of the NHS was established in 1977.
     
    The Purpose of the National Honor Society shall be to create...
     
    • enthusiasm for scholarship
    • to stimulate a desire to render service
    • to promote leadership
    • to develop character in the students of secondary schools 
     Seniors and juniors are selected on their academic accomplishment and their proven character and services qualities. Candidates must have a cumulative G.P.A. of  4.0(>90) to be considered for selection as a member of the Thomas E. Cahill Chapter of the National Honors Society. Students can apply at the beginning of their Junior or Senior year here at Roman. Members provide service in various ways ... through "peer" tutoring available before school and or during the last 20 minutes of lunch. Also annually we host two American Red Blood drives; one in the fall for Senior students and the other in the spring for our Junior students. NHS is nationwide organization that is recognized by colleges and universities. 
     

    CONTACT: Mrs Kristin Mackluckie– kmacluckie@romancatholichs.com
     

    COMMUNITY SERVICE CORPS (C.S.C.)

    Any student may join C.S.C., an Archdiocesan organization, through which high school students can give Christian service both within and outside the school community. By collecting and distributing food and toys, C.S.C. members reach out to the needy of all ages. C.S.C. sponsors many individual programs.
    CONTACT: Mrs. Annmarie Kuvick- akuvick@romancatholichs.com 
                    Ms. Judy Mckenna - jmckenna@romancatholichs.com
                    Mr. Thomas Karam - tkaram@romancatholichs.com

    OFFICE AIDES

    Students exchange their study periods for service in the various offices and resource centers. These students assist the administration and staff by performing basic clerical duties unique to particular offices.
     

    S.A.D.D.

    This program, sponsored by Shalom, is open to all students. Students Against Destructive Decisions participate in various activities that heighten the level of awareness of impaired driving and other negative behaviors within the school community. The program is coordinated with other Catholic and public high schools in Philadelphia. 
    CONTACT: Mrs. Maureen Brown – mbrown@romancatholichs.com
     

    MINISTRY TEAM

    The Ministry Team advises and assists the School Minister with the religious activities of the school. These activities include events such as School Masses, Morning Prayer, Retreats (other than Kairos) along with being of help in the school Chapel and Ministry Office.
    CONTACT:Mr. Keith Beaver - kbeaver@romancatholichs.com

    STUDENT COUNCIL

    Student Council members are elected by the student body to serve as their official representatives to the administration and the faculty. Nominations and elections for Senior officers are held in the Spring. Homeroom representatives are elected in the Fall. Council members assist with the dances, Back-to-School Night, Universal Visitation, and various social and alumni affairs.
    CONTACT: Mr. John Coyle – jcoyle@romancatholichs.com
                    Mr Maria Onorato-monorato@romancathholichs.com
     

    ROMAN AMBASSADORS

    The purpose of this club is to promote student leadership and avenues of service through real and practical public relations activities. The students will first be trained in all the rules of etiquette and proper deportment that pertain to school leadership and a positive image. Special time and emphasis will be further devoted to developing their public communication skills, for they will represent Roman Catholic High School at all public functions and activities. Students in grades 10 through 12 are eligible to apply for this organization.
    CONTACT: Mr. Adam Gault '07 - agault@romancatholichs.com
     

    BIG BROTHERS

    The Big Brothers program pairs at least two seniors with each freshman homeroom. The seniors act as mentors to the freshmen, helping them adapt to life at Catholic High.  
    CONTACT: Mrs. Elizabeth Smith - esmith@romancatholichs.com
                         Ms. Antoinette High  - ahigh@romancatholichs.com 

    A.S.I.S.T.

    The Alumni-Student Intergenerational Service Team, also known as the ASIST Program,  is open to seniors at Roman. Coordinated by Mr. Edward Keenan, the Seniors are partnered with participating older and disabled alumni. This unique program provides students with the opportunity to interact with alumni, some of whom live at home or a variety of healthcare facilities.
    CONTACT: Mr. Edward Keenan,’54- ekeenan@romancatholichs.com
     

    JR. AOH

    The Ancient Order of Hibernians is a charitable organization whose motto is Friendship, Unity, and Christian Charity. The Jr. AOH 1, Patrick Kerr Division meets monthly to promote a variety of service opportunities in the Greater Philadelphia area.
    CONTACT: Mr. Charles Taylor, '12  –  ctaylor@romancatholichs.com 
     

    RESPECT FOR LIFE

    The Respect Life group meets monthly, offering the students the opportunity to perform a variety of service projects while promoting and enhancing the value of life at all stages of existence. The group operates in conjunction with the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. Participation also includes attendance at the Pro-Life Leadership Day as well as the March for Life in Washington, DC
    CONTACT: Mr. Matthew Hummel - mhummel@romancatholichs.com